In partnership with the Maine Memory Network Maine Memory Network

Fryeburg Public Library

Fryeburg Public Library Facts

The Women's Library Club was organized in August 1890 with the mission to maintain a library for the use of the village and the "Intellectual Improvement of the Community."

The current mission is to maintain a strong partnership with the community, encourage the culture of education and learning and promote the pleasure of reading for all ages. We strive to maintain the historical integrity of this library's rich history and to grow its potential as a foundational institution providing access to information for everyone.

We consider ourselves to be a window on the past and a door to the future as we broaden opportunities, increase our technology and improve our service. We are dedicated in our continuing commitment to the community.

The Fryeburg Library is also the home of a special collection of works by Hopalong Cassidy author and creator, Clarence Mulford. Upon his death in 1956, Mr. Mulford bequeathed to the library, his office furnishings, Western books, research material, models and other treasured memorabilia. His estate provided funding for the Clarence E. Mulford Room where these collections are displayed.

The John F. Weston Memorial Room was completed in late fall of 1973 and dedicated on January 12, 1974. The room was made possible by the generosity of the family of John F. Weston and is home to the non-fictional works pertaining to Fryeburg's history, Maine authors and historians about Maine.

The granite building at 515 Main Street, built in 1832 was originally the village school house for Districts #1 and #2.

In 1903, the new village school, The Charles A. Snow School, now the administrative offices of SAD #72, was completed and the town voted to give the Stone House to the Women's Library Club for $1.

Listed on the National Register of Historic Places in 1984, the building continues to preserve the past and look to the future.


Monday - Thursday, 9 am. to 4 p.m.
Saturday, 9 a.m. to noon